Uncategorized

A Reading Safari

magazine

Are you looking for something new and fun for your students to do during reading, while also hitting multiple standards? I am!

In looking at the TEKS (Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills), there are several reading standards that I want to specifically target in the coming weeks. I also want to make sure I have some solid time scheduled with my small groups. Today I thought I would share an activity I recently created. I think it allows for student choice, reinforcement of skills, and active engagement for my students while I work with small groups and individual kiddos. I used the TEKS to design each activity, focusing on the ones that I really want to hit in the next few weeks. You could easily adapt this to fit whatever your state standards are!

I have often wanted to start using this particular set of magazines I have, which until now have been residing on the back table in my room-not touched by the kids. These are a little like booklets, with laminated and sturdy front and back covers, and are by a company called Mondo. I actually received these last year but, quite honestly, I just have not taken the time to dig into them and figure out how to best use them. But they are way cool!

These magazines are in sets of seven, with each set centered around a different topic. Multiple types of text are found inside each one, so even though there is a variety of genre, it is all related to the same central topic. Each magazine contains a fiction story, non fiction article, poem, play, persuasive letter, and vocabulary builder. And yes, these have just been on my counter not being used! FAIL!

I dusted these off and laid them out in my room. Here are the ones I chose for my students to select from for our first Reading Safari:

  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Mountain Sports
  • International Explorers
  • Smart Animal Adapters
  • Life in Bali
  • Extreme Weather

They will be using this safari board I created with their chosen magazine. If you click on that link, you will find not only the activities I designed, but I’ve also included the safari music  I will be playing. This is also a great excuse to wear a safari hat to school 🙂

Here is a peek inside the “Bali” magazine (my personal favorite):

bali collage
These are really well designed with interesting stories, unusual facts, and compelling images. Another great  feature….they each come with a set of chapter books that I could use for my guided reading groups. Here is a picture of the books that come with the Bali magazine:

bailrd

I can use these for book clubs as well as in guided reading groups. How cool!

Everyone will complete the same safari menu using their chosen magazine. Since all magazines are structured the same, I tried to design a safari board that would function with any chosen text.  I am not going to grade these safari’s; instead my assessment will be in the form of feedback and probing questions to get them to thinking more deeply. I am hoping that this safari will lead to my students’ becoming fully immersed in our latest addition to the classroom library!

This weekend, my students will be thinking about how they want to showcase their work. I have a group who thinks they might want to make a wiki and upload onto that. I have another group talking about creating little books using construction paper and notebook paper, and a few who might want to compile all the work into a live binder. A few are still thinking about the possibilities for how to organize this information and share it. So, it seems like an added bonus to this Reading Safari is that my 4th graders are going to be curating!

Today my students were able to look through each magazine and make their selection. They were very excited about these, as I anticipated!  I think they will be really engaged in reading, writing, and creating quality work while I am working with small groups and one-on-one during reading workshop. Looking forward to using this new resource!

What about you? Do you have any hidden treasures sitting on the back counter in your room? You might want to go on a safari yourself, to see what you can find!safari

3 thoughts on “A Reading Safari”

  1. Love!!!! I’m just as guilty too ! I’ve cracked them open and maybe used them for paired passages once last year! This is wonderful!! Love the safari sheet!!! I’m stealing/borrowing yet another great idea from you! Thanks!

  2. We have lots of great resources and I sometimes get locked into some without trying out the others, I am so glad I decided to spend the time examining these. I think they have lots of great possibilities! Please share the creative ways that I know YOU will come up with for them!!

Please leave a reply

